Posted by: happyfan08 | November 20, 2009

KLPGA: ADT-CAPS Championship Rd 1

The final official event of the 2009 KLPGA event is upon us: the ADT-CAPS Championship.  Hee Kyung Seo officially claimed the Player of the Year award on tour last event when she finished third and So Yeon Ryu lost in the playoff to Hyun Ji Kim.  Congratulations to her; with three Major victories in 2009 and four wins total, she certainly earned the title!

Hee Kyung Seo starring in the official poster for the ADT-CAPS

The Player of the Year race may be over, but the money list title is still up for grabs between Ryu and Seo.  Seo has a ten million won edge over Ryu, and a win this week would be enough to give either woman the title.  The best scoring average title is also up for grabs, with Seo again holding an edge over Ryu.  The KLPGA has been quick to hype the rivalry, with photos showing the two (very serious looking) rivals crossing drivers.

So Yeon Ryu vs. Hee Kyung Seo

The ADT-CAPS is a three day event that began on November 20th.  The conditions must have been tough, as by the end of the day, only one golfer was under par.  That golfer was second year player Ae Ri Pyun, who shot an impressive 3 under 69 to give herself a four shot lead.  At one point she had four straight birdies and collected seven birds in total (against four bogies).

Ae Ri Pyun

Seo and Ryu both had decent days, however.  Seo shot a 1 over par 73, and is tied for second with several players, including LPGA golfer Kyeong Bae and tournament winners Jung Eun Lee 5 and Ji Na Lim.  She had two double bogies and a bogey, but also 4 birdies.

Hee Kyung Seo

Kyeong Bae

Ryu is a shot further back after a 74.  She had five bogies and three birdies, and now sits tied for 7th. 

So Yeon Ryu

Lots of time left for Ryu to catch Seo and win the money list; but Seo has the advantage for the moment.  Will Pyun be able to hold both stars off and win?  Stay tuned!

1. Ae Ri Pyun 69 -3
2. Kyeong Bae 73 +1
Hee Kyung Seo 73 +1
Jung Eun Lee 5 73 +1
Ji Na Lim 73 +1
Jang Hee Lee 73 +1

7. Young Ran Jo 74 +2
So Yeon Ryu 74 +2
Bobea Park 74 +2
20. Bo Kyung Kim 77 +5
Ran Hong 77 +5
Seon Hwa Lee 2 (R) 77 +5
27. Bo Mee Lee 78 +6
Soo Jin Yang (R) 78 +6
Ha Neul Kim 78 +6
34. Hyun Hee Moon 79 +7
Aram Cho 79 +7
45. Shin Ae Ahn (R) 80 +8
52. He Yong Choi 81 +9
59. HJ Choi 85 +13
62. Hye In Lee 87 +15


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: