Posted by: happyfan08 | October 20, 2010

KLPGA: 2010 KB Star Tour Finale Rd 1

The fourth and final Major of the KLPGA season, the KB Star Tour Finale, takes place this week.  It’s a four rounder contested from October 21st through the 25th.  For many years, KB sponsored an entire mini-tour of events on the KLPGA tour.  This year, however, the ‘KB Star Tour’ is down to a single event, this one.

The defending champion is Hee Kyung Seo.  Last year, Seo battled a determined teenage amateur named Ha Na Jang right down to the wire before putting her away with a birdie on the second to last hole.

Defending Champ Hee Kyung Seo in round one

The first round has been completed, and two superstars have staked an early claim with a tie for the lead.  Last week, at the year’s third Major, the Hite Cup, Bo Mee Lee came oh so close to winning.  She was in contention much of Sunday but wound up second to Soo Hwa Jang.  This week, Lee seems to be on a mission.  After an early bogey, she made birdies on 5 of the next 8 holes to move to four under.  She then made a par, then ripped off four more straight birdies to shoot a scintillating 8 under par 64.

Bo Mee Lee in round one

Bo Mee Lee

But Lee would not have the lead by herself for long.  Shin Ae Ahn has had a breakthrough season in 2010.  She has already won twice this year and currently sits second on the tour’s money list.  Ahn went out in 35 on this day, but finished her round in blazing style, with birdies on 7 of the final 9 holes for a back nine 29.  Included in that run were four straight birdies to end her day.

Shin Ae Ahn on day one

Shin Ae Ahn's day one fashion statement

Defending champion Hee Kyung Seo had a solid start, a 4 under par 68, while fellow superstar So Yeon Ryu shot a 69.  Korean Women’s Open winner Soo Jin Yang shot a 71, and Hite Cup winner Soo Hwa Jang produced a 75 and is in danger of missing the cut.

Hee Kyung Seo

Three more rounds to go!

1. Bo Mee Lee 64 -8
Shin Ae Ahn 64 -8
3. Hye Jung Choi 65 -7
Sung Ah Yim 65 -7
Hye Won Jung 65 -7

9. Hee Kyung Seo 68 -4
16. Bo Kyung Kim 69 -3
So Yeon Ryu 69 -3
Ji Na Lim 69 -3
Jin Joo Hong 69 -3
Ha Neul Kim 69 -3
24. Yoon Ji Cho (R) 70 -2
30. Ran Hong 71 -1
Soo Jin Yang 71 -1
48. He Yong Choi 72 Even
59. Jung Eun Lee 5 73 +1
Soo Young Moon 73 +1
Hye In Lee 73 +1
76. Il Hee Lee 73 +1
86. Soo Hwa Jang 75 +3
Ok Hee Ku 75 +3
Hyun Hee Moon 75 +3


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: